Tools: Share:
KAMSA announces Middle School Principals of the Year
By Contact: John Sanborn, KAMSA Executive Director
Dec 17, 2012 - 6:01:09 PM
The Kansas Association of Middle School Administrators (KAMSA) is proud to announce the 2012-2013 KAMSA Middle School of the Year Awards. The KAMSA selection committee has completed their selection process, and Kevin Logan of Lyons Middle School was selected as 2012-2013 KAMSA Middle School Principal of the Year. Lisa Krone, Clark Middle School, Bonner Springs, was named 2012-2013 KAMSA Assistant Principal of the Year.

Three middle school administrators were named 2012-2013 KAMSA “Exemplary” Middle School Principals of the Year. Those individuals included:
  • Mitch Lubin, Principal of Wellsville Middle School
  • Becky Murray, Principal of Riverton Middle School, and
  • Mike Wiley, Principal of Basehor-Linwood Middle School
Four middle school administrators were named 2012-2013 KAMSA “Exemplary” Middle School Assistant Principals of the Year. Those individuals included:
  • Pam Algrim, Assistant Principal of Dodge City Middle School
  • Jerry Bruch, Assistant Principal of Washburn Rural Middle School
  • Lori Kiblinger, Assistant Principal of Royster Middle School, Chanute and
  • Heather Oentrich, Assistant Principal of Fort Riley Middle School
The KAMSA awards will be presented at the KAMSA Spring Conference Luncheon on May 6, 2013, at Washburn Rural Middle School in Topeka, Kansas.

KAMSA and USA|Kansas commend each of these administrators for the outstanding effort they give to their staff, students, and communities. Congratulations for a job well done!

On Friday, the Student Performance and Efficiency Commission submitted its final report to the Kansas Legislature, along with recommendations for proposed legislation. Sam Williams, Commission Chair, is scheduled to present the recommendations a joint meeting of the House and Senate Education Committees this Wednesday at 1:00 p.m.

To view the final Commission Report, click here. To view the Commission's proposed legislation, click here.

As you enroll students, welcome teachers and prepare for the first day of school, don't forget to take time to renew your USA|Kansas membership. You can renew online or download a PDF membership form.

Here are some quick administrator resources:

2015-2016 Superintendent Changes The most recent superintendent change list for 2015-2016 is now available online. Please note that this list is subject to change regularly and is based on personnel information we receive from district offices. To submit changes or updated information, please contact the USA|Kansas office at 785.232.6566.

Kansas Statutes for School Administrators. This page includes a list of frequently accessed Kansas Statutes governing public schools, especially school finance.

KPERS Members: Your Benefits Are Changing.
To help members and employers understand the benefit changes enacted this past legislative session, the Kansas Public Employees Retirement System (KPERS) has developed a special section on their website for changes going into effect in January, 2014.
Recent reports indicate that some school district firewalls may be blocking communication from USA|Kansas and some of our member associations. Sometimes, systems will see multiple people at one USD, getting the same email at the same time, as suspicious activity. To ensure that you receive communication from USA|Kansas, please provide the following information list of IP addresses to your IT departments.

Click here to read more.

All Contents © 2008 United School Administrators of Kansas